top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarkos

Build a Stronger Fan Base: The Power of REAL Communication





Communication is key to any happy relationship. You know, like those couples who've been married for over 40 years—they'll tell you it's all about communication, and not just any communication, but the right kind.


Now, when I talk about relationships, I'm not just talking about personal ones like marriage. I'm also talking about your relationship as an artist with your fans. You've got to talk to them frequently, but more importantly, in the right way. Always put yourself in their shoes; ask yourself, "How would I react if someone talked to me like this?"


For example, think about those social media accounts you follow for the music. If every other post is just "Stream My Music, Out Now, Buy Now, Subscribe," how likely are you to actually do it? Most people want to support those they genuinely appreciate.


So, as an artist, when you're starting out, communication is key. And not just any communication, but the right kind. You need to entertain and engage with your fans. That's how you build a healthy relationship with them. Sales and money come later.


I get it—some artists say, "I don't care about the money, man, I just want to make music." That's cool, make your music, entertain. But don't turn around and complain that nobody supports you. It's a bit of a paradox, isn't it? Those who claim not to care about money often wonder why people don't support them. Don’t fall into that trap.


If you're on my email list, I know you're not in it just for the casual scroll. You're part of the 5% of artists who really care about their music and the connection with fans. Thank you for that. That's why every time I reach out, I try to give you as much helpful information as possible without overwhelming your inbox.


And that's how you should be with your fans too. Sure, offer them your long-form content like music videos and full songs, but in your daily communication, keep it quick and to the point. Entertain them, engage with them, and keep the focus on the music.


Batch create your content so you can post consistently across all platforms every day. Do this month after month, and you'll see growth. But remember, it's not just about content; you need the infrastructure too. A website and an email provider like MailChimp are essential for direct communication with your fans.


So whether you have me build a website for you or you create one for free on Wix, get it set up and connected with your Mailchimp. Start building that loyal fan base by communicating with them properly, as often as possible.


Remember, communication is key to any healthy relationship. Build a healthy relationship with your fans, and they'll love and support you just like that couple in the 50-year-long relationship loves and supports each other.


Have a good one


P.S. I made a full video talking about this topic in more detail that you can find on Youtube. To check it out, hit the button below. You can also find this video and full episodes of my podcast, Music Makin Cents Podcast, available on all streaming platforms. Link available HERE


If you need help with your website, book a zoom with me and we can develop a solid plan to get your website fully operational, as well as build a content strategy to help you grow your fanbase with REAL fans, not just empty streams.


Head over to


You can go check out my services designed to help out artists, producers, podcasts, or whatever you're working on and need help marketing.

From website development to social media management to video editing.

Whatever it is, I can help you out, so make sure you hit me up. We'll hop on a zoom and get you growing.


Talk to you soon

Comments


bottom of page