top of page
Writer's pictureHarkos

How To Get From Streams To Sales

Okay, you got tens of thousands or maybe hundreds of thousands of streams on your catalog. Now what?


Maybe you're getting a few thousand streams a month on average. What's next?


Whenever I ask artists these questions I usually get the same answer, “Keep growing from there”, and some even answer with, “I'm not sure”.


The point I'm trying to get at is where do you take the people after streaming?


I’ve said it many times in these emails, and KP and I have said it for over a year on Music Makin Cents Podcast, use streaming platforms just like social media.


They are marketing and promotional platforms, just like radio.


With radio, you pay to get played, and then you make royalties, but those normally don't equal the amount you pay to get on the station.


Many people call that pay-to-play and think it's just corruption. Sometimes it is, but most of the time it's just standard advertising practice. People will say the same thing with social media and streaming platforms, it's all pay-to-play.


No, it's standard advertising.


Do you think your local grocery store considers it pay-to-play whenever they put an ad on local radio, TV, paper, or target locally on Facebook?


What about the infamous Budweiser commercials on the Super Bowl? Does Budweiser consider that pay-to-play?


Absolutely not!


As Capone, a frequent guest of the Music Makin Cents Podcast, would say, “having a budget” is a dirty phrase to many artists.


And he's right.


I see a lot of artists who will get upset whenever a promoter or even a beatmaker says that they only work with artists who have a budget. And in the comments, I always see a bunch of excuse-filled, poor-minded individuals trying to figure out how to get what they want for as little input as possible.


That mindset will set you up for failure.


However, if you learn how to market properly, either through self-education or by hitting someone like myself up for advice, then you will be able to use social media and streaming platforms as the marketing and promotional tools that they are.


After that you can answer my question, What's Next?


What's next is sending people to your website so that they can purchase your music, merchandise, tickets to your next show, and even donate to you.


All of these actions will not only financially support you as an artist, but will also allow you to build a community.


These are your Super fans.


They see you as more than just another person on social media and streaming platforms making music. They see themselves as part of your movement. And now that you have their email address you need to speak to them as if they are a part of your movement.


You don't need to constantly hound them to buy things or share your stuff and support you, they will do that anyway.


As I always say, a Super Fan will share your music with their Grandma whether or not she gives a shit.


Having proper communication and creating a sense of real community within your fan base, will let you start growing more super fans. This increase your financial freedom to the point where you can live that artist lifestyle that you want to live.


A website is key to financial freedom and community growth.


But I know a lot of you will probably say, Harkos I don't have $50 or $60 a month to be spending on a website.


That's perfectly fine.


I have figured out ways to get a fully functional website where you can sell music and merchandise, accept donations, and start communicating with fans on a deep level and build community.


All for as low as $25 a year to keep up and running. Think it's crazy?


I made a video walking through one of the websites that I have built for another artist and I explained how I set everything up to run costing only $25 a year.


In this video I show you how I set everything up, however, there is a large learning curve.


That's where I can help out.


I'm all about helping artists gain the knowledge and tools that they need to be successful.


I not only have a brand new course that will be out the 1st of August called “All-In-One Music Business System Setup”, but I also build sites for artists.


AND I’m letting you in on this course and my website services at a $200 discount.


Let me know if you're interested in either the course or a custom build.


-Harkos

Comments


bottom of page