top of page
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Writer's pictureHarkos

TikTok vs UMG and The USG

What’s up y’all, Harkos Here.


So I'm on my morning walk, out here in the woods, thinking about this whole UMG vs TikTok thing. To me, it’s not a coincidence that all of a sudden they're just now having another bill coming through Congress to ban TikTok. Well, that’s what they are labeling it as. But in reality what it is, is the same thing that they tried to do back in in 2020.


I’m often called a conspiracy theorist for thinking that government and special interests collude together in order to force their will and control on the population. When people call me a conspiracy theorist, I always say, “If they weren’t conspiring, then I would stop theorizing.”


Well, I’m back at is with another “theory”. I use quotes because I think this is based in much reality and more of a probability than a theory.


So what I'm thinking with this whole thing is that UMG tried to get more money in the form of royalties out of TikTok. However TikTok didn't want to give up more money.


With both TikTok and UMG being very large influential companies, they started to have a fight over who has more power. As a result UMG removed all of their music off of TikTok. I feel that they felt that this would harm TikTok enough to where they would be forced to renegotiate with UMG over royalties.


But I don't think that they stopped there. Approximately one month after the removal of UMG’s music off of TikTok, UMG announced that they would be laying off approximately $271 million dollars worth of salaries. That's a lot of people even at high salary jobs!


A lot of people in the music industry are questioning as to not only why UMG would do that, but also how they can still maintain operations when losing that many people. I shot a video yesterday morning that you can find on the YouTube channel listed here, where I described, in great detail, all of my theory.


But in short I feel that UMG removed their music from TikTok in order to try to weaken the market valuation of TikTok with the drastic loss of content. I also feel that UMG then decided to cut a lot of excess spending in their budget in order to be lean and maneuverable. They then took their power and influence, and possibly money, and petitioned the United States government to go forward with legislation against TikTok in order to try to force them into a situation where they would have to sell majority control to an American company.


I think that UMG wants to be the person to buy that controlling stake and TikTok, and that is why they made their company lean. With no longer having to shell out over 271 million dollars worth of salary, they now have that money within their budget to use as leverage in order to gain funding and purchase TikTok for roughly a billion dollars or more. I also feel that they may have teamed up with Meta in order to gain the necessary finances needed in order to purchase TikTok.


Like I said a little bit ago I went into very full detail describing all of this and a video that I'm going to link up right here, however, I feel that I am bare minimum on the right track if not completely correct in what I see has happened and will happen.


In the last 2 months UMG removed all their music off of TikTok, cut a substantial amount of salary out of their expenses, and the United States government decided to actually pass regulation against TikTok that they initially proposed 4 years ago. Those things happening all within a very short period of time make me question the idea of this all being just a coincidence.


But let me know what you think. As I said I have a much longer video on this that you can find right here.


Whether you decide to watch the video or not, do me a favor and drop a comment to this email and shoot me a message describing whether you think I'm on to something or if I'm completely off it and need to be medicated.


Half serious on that one, but genuinely let me know what you think about this and we can have a discussion.


But I'm going to go ahead and end this so that you can drop a comment, let me know what you think, and then get on with your day making that great music that you make.


Have a good one

Comments


bottom of page